Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – June 12, 2014
Prepared by Meena  Gowda

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:55am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the June 5, 2014 minutes.

After self-introduction of all attendees, a brief discussion of tracer wiring and RFID took place.
§34-2705 regarding duties of the excavator was then discussed and revised along with owner or operator responsibilities.   Certain revisions were made and the revisions are reflected in in Title 34 working document dated June 12, 2014.
It was agreed by members that we would have to revisit the revised sections as more information was necessary to make appropriate revisions.
Chairman Brown suggested discussing the following items at the next meeting;

  • In the event the underground facilities cannot be located on time:
    • Ongoing  work
    • Project  work
    • Difficult to locate facilities
    • Insufficient /incorrect information on ticket, mapping, streets etc.
    • Access to area of construction
    • Ticket too large over 1320 feet

The meeting was adjourned at 11:48 AM.

The next committee meetings will be held at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100, Hanover, MD 21076 starting at 8:30am on the following dates;

    Wednesday, June 25th
    Tuesday, July 1st

MEETING ATTENDEES

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Schowalter (DC UNCA)
Excavator Committee
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Juan Vogel
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Kirsten Bowden
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (202) 872-2024 kmbowden@pepco.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair Water/Sewer Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
Robert Glidewell Washington Gas
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.