Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – June 5, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:50am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the May 28, 2014 minutes.

Felicia West (DC PSC) read the following statement issued by the District of Columbia Public Service Commission;

    The staff of the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia (“DC PSC”) has been participating in the Title 34 Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One Call Law (“Committee”) meetings for monitoring purposes. To date, neither the Commission staff nor the Commission itself has taken any position on any part of the proposed legislation. However, now the Committee is proposing that the DC PSC be the entity that certifies the One Call Center. The current proposed language reads:

    Section 34-2702, District of Columbia Code (Proposed)

    Formation and operation of the One-call center

    (a)There shall be a single one-call center for the District of Columbia that shall be registered with and certified by the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia (DCPSC). The one-call center operating on or before the effective date of this act is automatically registered and certified by the Public Service Commission.

    The Commission’s oversight and responsibility is unclear under this proposal and, without further clarification, the Commission is unable to support the revision at this time.

Committee Conversation;

  • DC PSC statement
  • Attorney General’s Office (M. Gowda will contact the AG’s office regarding law rewrite)
  • DDOT Permit Enforcement

Title 34 Sections reviewed with modifications made during this meeting;

    NEW 1: DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS
    Section 34-2701 — Definitions

    NEW 5: EXCAVATION AND DEMOLITION
    Section 34-2705 – Requirements of a person responsible for excavation and demolition

Review of future committee meetings at the Miss Utility Call Center starting at 8:30a.m.,

  • Thursday, June 12th
  • Wednesday, June 25th
  • Tuesday, July 1st

All meetings will be held at the Miss Utility Call Center. Refreshments will be available at 8:00am, the meeting begins at 8:30am and ending at 12 noon.

The Meeting adjourned at 12:05pm.

MEETING ATTENDEES

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Alex Dankanich
PHMSA
PHMSA (202) 550-0481 alex.dankanich@dot.gov
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
  (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Denny Schowalter (DC UNCA)
Excavator Committee
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dparks@missutility.net
Elliott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-2801 elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Kirsten Bowden
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (202) 872-2024 kmbowden@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (410) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mcruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda, Esq.
Vice Chair Water/Sewer Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 meena.gowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.