Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – May 28, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

 

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:47am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members.

The committee approved the May 21, 2014 minutes.

The future meeting dates were reviewed by the committee.  It was suggested and agreed to by all attending members to extend the meeting time from 11:15am to 12:00pm to allow additional time for Title 34 review.

The meeting dates are as follows:

    Thursday, June 5th
    Thursday, June 12th
    Wednesday, June 25th
    Tuesday, July 1st

811 Victory t-shirts will be available on June 5th.  It was suggested that all committee members wear the shirts for the June 7th Belmont Stakes, the last leg of the Triple Crown.  California Chrome’s jockey, Victor Espinoza is wearing ‘Call 811’ on his gear to remind the nation to - call before digging.

Title 34 Sections reviewed with modifications made during this meeting;

    NEW 1: DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS
    Section 34-2701 — Definitions

    NEW 5: EXCAVATION AND DEMOLITION
    Section 34-2705 – Requirements of a person responsible for excavation and demolition

The Meeting adjourned at 11:17am.

MEETING ATTENDEES

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
  (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Denny Schowalter (DC UNCA)
Excavator Committee
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dparks@missutility.net
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jeffrey Powell
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-0573 jeffrey.powell@dc.gov
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Mark Hamrick
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (410) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mcruddo@occinc.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.