Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – May 21, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.

The meeting was called to order at 8:45am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members and guests.

The committee approved the May 14, 2014 minutes.

Due to upcoming business trips, the committee established the following changes to future meeting dates:

    Wednesday, May 28 (no change)
    Thursday, June 5th
    Thursday, June 12th
    Wednesday, June 25th
    Tuesday, July 1st

Some of these dates will have a longer meeting time; the committee will discuss which dates at the next committee meeting.  All above meetings will be held at the Miss Utility call center in Hanover, MD.

Dora Parks (Secretary) stated she would be on business trips on the June 12th and July 1st meeting dates.  Chairman Brown and member Kevin Woolbright will provide the refreshments.

The committee discussed the success of the recent ‘Call Before You Dig’ campaign during the Preakness Stakes.  Jockey, Victor Espinoza wore the ‘Call 811’ logo on his pants, turtle neck, boots and winner’s hat after he won the second leg of the Triple Crown.  Chairman Brown suggested we support the campaign efforts by ordering the new t-shirts commemorating the win and promotion. All were in favor; Dora Parks will place the order.

New committee member, Alex Dankanich (PHSMA) introduced himself and provided a brief bio.  Chairman Brown provided a summary of the committee’s purpose and progress regarding the one call law rewrite.

Committee discussions;

  • Two gas damages in Alexandria, VA to Washington Gas – due to type of work, the contractor was exempt from calling in a ticket.  Washington Gas reached out to the Virginia State Corporation Commission.
  • Marks vs. the locate – test pitting

Title 34 Sections reviewed with modifications made during this meeting;

    NEW 1: DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS
    Section 34-2701 — Definitions

    NEW 3: EXCAVATION AND DEMOLITION
    Section 34-2704 — Notification prior to excavation

    NEW 4: EXCAVATION AND DEMOLITION
    Section 34-2709 – Emergency excavation and demolition

    NEW 5: EXCAVATION AND DEMOLITION
    Section 34-2705 – Requirements of a person responsible for excavation and demolition

The Meeting adjourned at 11:20am.

MEETING ATTENDEES

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Alex Dankanich
PHMSA
PHMSA (202) 550-0481 alex.dankanich@dot.gov
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
  (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Denny Schowalter
NUCA
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dparks@missutility.net
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jeffrey Powell
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 671-0573 jeffrey.powell@dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Mark Hamrick
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (410) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.