Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076
1-800-257-7777
www.missutility.net

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover,MD
Minutes of the Meeting – April 21, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The meeting was called to order at 8:45am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members and guests.

The committee approved the April 14, 2014 minutes.

Chairman Brown reiterated the purpose of the committee with an overall emphasis on safe excavation, public safety, the utility environment and the need to strengthen the existing Title 34 One Call Law.

Elliott Garrett with DDOT provided an introduction of himself as a new committee member.  Mr. Garrett is the Chief Public Space Inspections Officer. 

The committee considered the following items as a proactive approach to strengthening the law;

  • Storm drains being located
  • Private water and sewer lines being located
  • Installing tracer wire on all newly installed utility lines/pipes
  • New development utility ownership

It was suggested that all stakeholders approach their respective engineers to put into practice c-wire installation.

There was a lengthy discussion regarding the negative impact of cross boring, this is a national industry issue.  The committee will determine an approach to this issue.

Title 34 Sections modified during this meeting;
NEW 1: DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS 
Section 34-2701 — Definitions

Future meeting schedule and venue;
Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076

  • Monday, April 28th
  • Monday, May 5th
  • Wednesday, May 14th
  • Wednesday, May 21st
  • Wednesday, May 28th

The Meeting adjourned at 11:20am.

MEETING ATTENDEES

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
  (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call center Committee Member
One Call Concepts
(410) 782-2026
dparks@missutility.net
Ellicott Garrett
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT   elliott.garrett@dc.gov
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Mark Hamrick
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (410) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Matt Ruddo
Call Center Committee Member
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda
Vice Chairman
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 mgowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.