Home
Select Your State
Search & Status
ITIC
Facility Owners
Excavators
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
Contact
It's the Law
ITIC Lite
MDDPA
Call 811
Twitter
Facebook
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover,MD
Minutes of the Meeting – April 14, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

PURPOSE OF REWRITE
To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The meeting was called to order at 8:42am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members and guests.

The committee approved the March 31, 2014 minutes.

For the benefit of the guests, Chairman Brown provided an overview regarding the purpose of the committee and our current progress.

The committee reviewed the modified section arrangements per meeting dated 3/31/14. The revision will benefit the committee when working through various law topics (i.e., Excavation and Demolition section parts).

The committee worked on the following sections;
NEW 1: DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS 
Section 34-2701 — Definitions

NEW 3: EXCAVATION AND DEMOLITION
Section 34-2704 — Notification prior to excavation

There was a lengthy discussion regarding ticket validity considering locate extensions and the impact on the contractor/homeowner.

Future meeting schedule and venue;
Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD 21076

  • Monday, April 21st
  • Monday, April 28th
  • Monday, May 5th
  • Wednesday, May 14th
  • Wednesday, May 21st
  • Wednesday, May 28th

The Meeting adjourned at 11:13am.

MEETING ATTENDEES

NAME
Sorted By First Name

COMPANY TELEPHONE # EMAIL ADDRESS
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
  (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Denny Showalter
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Secretary
Call center Committee Member
One Call Concepts
(410) 782-2026
dparks@missutility.net
Jim Barron
MUFDPA Committee Member
MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Juan Vogel
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Mark Hamrick
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (410) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Meena Gowda
Vice Chairman
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 mgowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Chairman
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
GUEST ATTENDEE(S)
Kim Lincoln-Steward DC PSD (202) 626-9178 kstewart@psc.dc.gov
Keith Fox DDOT (202) 671-4613 keith.foxx@dc.gov
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.