Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover,MD
Minutes of the Meeting – March 31, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The meeting was called to order at 8:40am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members and guests.

The committee approved the March 24, 2014 minutes.

Anthony Lawson representing DDOT stated in an email he will no longer attend the committee meetings.  The committee agreed DDOT needs to be represented on the committee and perhaps DDOT does not understand the importance of their participation. Vice Chairman Gowda will contact DDOT to discuss this matter.  A suggestion was made that PEPCO and WGL should also reach out to DDOT supporting Vice Chairman, Gowda’s intent. If this effort is unsuccessful, Bruce Bereano volunteered to contact the Mayor’s office.   The committee requested Dora Parks to provide Jeffery Powell of DDOT past meeting minutes and to add his email address to the DC Law Rewrite distribution list.

Vice Chairman Gowda will contact Aerial Levinson Waldman and Janet Robinson of the Attorney General’s Office regarding committee involvement.  

There was discussion regarding what entity would provide oversight of the one-call center vendor. In most states, the Public Service Commission provides this service. Felicia West (DC PSC) will follow up regarding current vendor certification. The committee agreed upon the significance of having (1) one-call center to serve the District of Columbia with the current vendor being grandfathered in as provided in the law rewrite.

Chairman Brown reevaluated the suggested flow of law sections and made changes based on the process, sequence of events and ease of working within each section.  All current law sections (34-2701 to 34-2709) are part of the new reorganization as outlined;

  • Definitions and General Provisions – Section 2701
  • Formation and Operations of the One-Call Center - Section 2702
  • Excavation and Demolition - Section 2704, 2709, 2705 and 2706
  • Owner or Operator Responsibilities (new section)
  • Authority Creation (new section)
  • Enforcement and Penalties – Section 2707 and 2708
  • Education and Outreach Fund (new section)
  • Designer Request – Section 2703

Future meeting schedule and venue;
Monday, April 14th at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD
Monday, April 21st – to be determined 
The Meeting adjourned at 11:20am.


Sorted By First Name

Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
  (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Denny Showalter
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Call center Committee Member
One Call Concepts
(410) 782-2026
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Juan Vogel
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 929-9710 juan.vogel@utiliquest.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Kirsten Bowden
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (202) 872-2024 kmbowden@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (410) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Matt Ruddo
One Call Committee
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda
Vice Chairman
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 mgowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Jim Bieber Anchor Construction (202) 269-6694 jbieber@anchorconst.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.