Miss Utility7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100
Hanover, MD 21076

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – DC Water, Blue Plains Facility in the District of Columbia
Minutes of the Meeting – March 24, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The meeting was called to order at 9:05am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members and guests.

The committee approved the February 24, 2014 minutes.

Chairman Brown reviewed the modifications that have been made during previous committee meetings to the Title 34, Chapter 27 2012 District of Columbia code.  The committee is working through Section 34-2701, Definitions.  Additional changes were made based on committee discussions.  Sean Parron stated PEPCO did not need to have ‘poles’ added to the definitions defined in item (6).  The committee began working through Section 34-2702 (see attached working draft 14 0325). 

A lengthy discussion ensued regarding the flow of the various Sections within the current Title 34.  The committee agreed that a proposed outline would be submitted by Bruce Bereano.  Dora Parks will insert the current sections of the Title 34 into each new proposed segment for review by the committee at the next meeting.  The committee reviewed the Maryland Title 12 outline and stated they would prefer to have any new enforcement language inserted into the same section that contains the current 34-2707 or towards the end of the Title.

Future meeting schedule and venue;
Monday, March 31st at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD
The Meeting adjourned at 11:35am.


Sorted By First Name

Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano
Staff Committee Member
  (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Denny Showalter
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Call center Committee Member
One Call Concepts
(410) 782-2026
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
MUFDPA Committee Member
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Mark Hamrick
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (410) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Meena Gowda
Vice Chairman
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 mgowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parran
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Juan Vogal UtiliQuest    
Robert Banks WGL    
© 2018 Miss Utility. All Rights Reserved.