Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown:  Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Host Venue – PEPCO, Washington, DC
Minutes of the Meeting – February 10, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

To modify the current District of Columbia One-Call Law to meet the requirements of PHMSA’s Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to reflect best and current practices. Enforcement of the DC law will have its foundation in outreach and education.
The meeting was called to order at 8:46am by Chairman Brown, followed by introductions of committee members and guests.
The committee approved the January 27, 2014 minutes.

Chairman Brown reviewed the list of concerns identified by the committee as discussed during the January 27, 2014 meeting with the understanding that all members will have the opportunity to discuss all rewrite matters with their internal stakeholder colleagues before voting by consensus.

Listed Concerns:

  • Exemption – Routine Maintenance, including patch-type of paving
  • 48 hour notification
  • Emergency Excavation
  • Membership to the One-Call System
  • Marking Standards
  • White Lining
  • Ability to establish rules supported by Common Ground Alliance metrics

Future meeting schedule and venue;
Monday, February 24th at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD
Monday, March 3rd at the PEPCO Service Center, 3400 Benning Rd, NE Washington, DC, Building 59
Monday, March 17th at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 Hanover, MD
Monday, March 24th – (tentative) at the DC Water Blue Plaines Facility

Review of current Title 34, Chapter 27
Changes to Title 34, section 2701 (definitions) – Items 1 through 7 were discussed and modifications suggested by committee members were noted in the attached.  Committee members agreed to review the attached working rewrite document dated January 27, 2014, and be prepared to discuss further, if necessary, and vote at the next meeting.

The Meeting adjourned at 11:20am.


Sorted By First Name

Anythony Lawson
DDOT Committee Member
DDOT (202) 497-3645 anthony.lawson@dc.gov
Bob Evans
Gas Committee Member
WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Denny Showalter
Excavator Committee Member
Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
Call center Committee Member
One Call Concepts
(410) 782-2026
Felicia West
DC PSC Committee Member
DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Joe Shelton (DC NUCA)
Excavator Committee Member
B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kirsten Bowden
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (202) 872-2024 kmbowden@pepco.com
Mark Hamrick
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (41) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Meena Gowda
Vice Chairman
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 787-2628 mgowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
Gas Committee Member
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parron
Electric Committee Member
PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith
Locator Committee Member
UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tsedale Berhanu
Water Committee Member
DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy
Telephone Committee Member
Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Udeozo Ogbue DC PSD (202) 626-9190
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.