Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown    Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda, Esq.
Miss Utility Call Center, Hanover, MD
Minutes of the Meeting – January 27, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

Meeting called to order at 8:45am by Scott Brown
Welcome and introductions

Attending committee members received;

  • Common Ground Alliance Best Practices Guide, V10
  • PIPES Act, Nine Key Elements for a successful Damage Prevention Program
  • Maryland Underground Damage Prevention Authority – Origin and Background
  • Title 34, Chapter 27 District One Call Law

The committee reviewed the Nine Key Elements as provided by PHSMA and established an action item list for further discussion;

  • Positive Response – Key Element #1
  • Designer Tickets –Key Element #2
  • Education and Outreach Program –Key Element #5
  • Enforcement – Key Element # 6 and 7
  • Provide Annual Reporting – Key Element #9

The committee discussed concerns regarding the current One-Call Law and other work site guidelines for future review;

  • Exemption – Routine Maintenance, including patch-type of paving
  • 48 hour notification
  • Emergency Excavation
  • Membership to the One-Call System
  • Marking Standards
  • White Lining
  • Ability to establish rules supported by Common Ground Alliance metrics

To ensure the current law meets the requirements of the PIPES Act - Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to modify current law to reflect current practices.  Enforcement of DC law will have a base/foundation in outreach and education.

A suggestion was made to provide a letter to the Attorney General’s office regarding the new committee, purpose and participation.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 11:15am.

                Monday, February 3rd at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 in Hanover
                Monday, February 10th at PEPCO, 3400 Benning Rd, NE in Washington, DC, Building 59
Refreshments will be served at 8:00am; the meeting time will be 8:30am to 11:00am.


Sorted By First Name

Bob Evans WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano   (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Damon Patterson DC PSC (202) 626-9167 dpatterson@psc.dc.gov
Denny Showalter Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
One Call Concepts (410) 782-2026 dparks@missutility.net
Felicia West DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Jim Barron MUFDPA (410) 782-2102 jim.barron@mddpa.org
Joe Shelton B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Mark Hamrick Verizon (410) 610-1371 mark.a.hamrick@verizon.com
Matt Ruddo One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda
Vice Chairman
DC Water (202) 787-2628 mgowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parron PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Vincent Healy Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.