Select Your State
Search & Status
Facility Owners
Training Safety
Home Owners
Call Center Information
It's the Law
Call 811
Printer Friendly
Tell A Friend
Before you dig, every dig. It's the law. 1.800.257.7777

Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law
Chairman, Scott Brown    Vice Chairman, Meena Gowda
Miss Utility Call Center in Hanover, MD
Meeting Minutes – January 13, 2014
Prepared by Dora Parks, Secretary

Meeting called to order at 9:00am by Scott Brown
Welcome and introductions

Committee meetings will model Common Ground Alliance, consensus with voting rights when necessary.  One vote accepted from each identified stakeholder group represented at the meeting.

The Committee will be comprised of various stakeholder groups; two members from each identified group will be considered committee members with voting rights, but with only one vote.  All stakeholder votes are considered with respect to group consensus.

Meetings will be announced via the Miss Utility website and by means of email distribution.  The DC Register will be considered as an option to post meeting dates.

    The committee was formed;
      Scott Brown as Chair
      Meena Gowda as Vice Chair
      Dora Parks as Secretary

Stakeholder committee working group members:

Telephone Vincent Healy and Mark Hamrick
Electric Sean Parran and Kirsten Bowden
Gas Scott Brown and Romelia Kemp
Water Meena Gowda and Tsedale Berhanu
DDOT Anthony Lawson (second seat TBD)
Excavators DC NUCA, Denny Showalter and Joe Shelton
Call Center Dora Parks and Matt Ruddo
Locators Thurman Smith and Juan Vogel
MUFPDA Kevin Woolbright and Jim Barron
DC PSC Felicia West (second seat TBD)

Scott Brown will provide a letter to the Attorney General’s office, Joe Shelton will contact ABC Metro and Matt Ruddo will contact Mr. Kaufman (Comcast) regarding working group participation.

To ensure the current law meets the requirements of the PIPES Act - Nine Key Elements of an effective damage prevention program and to modernize current law to reflect current practices.  Enforcement of DC law will have a base/foundation in outreach and education.

Bruce Bereano provided an overview of legislative sponsorship.  Matt Ruddo provided a handout; Underground Facilities Miss Utility Law Stakeholders work group summary and Senate Bill 911.  Dora Parks will order copies of Common Ground Alliance, Best Practices guide for committee review.


    Steering Committee to Rewrite the District One-Call Law


    Monday, January 27th at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 in Hanover
    Monday, February 3rd at the Miss Utility Call Center, 7223 Parkway Drive, Suite 100 in Hanover
    Monday, February 10th at PEPCO, 3400 Benning Rd, NE in Washington, DC, Building 59
Refreshments will be served at 8:00am; the meeting time will be 8:30am to 11:00am.

There being no further business brought before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 11:05am.


Sorted By First Name

Anythony Lawson DDOT (202) 497-3645 anthony.lawson@dc.gov
Bob Evans WGL (202) 624-6573 revans@washgas.com
Bruce Bereano   (410) 267-0410 lobbyannapolis@verizon.net
Damon Patterson DC PSC (202) 626-9167 dpatterson@psc.dc.gov
Denny Showalter Insight, LLC (DC NUCA Rep) (703) 999-8828 dshowalter@planwithinsight.com
Dora Parks
One Call Concepts
(410) 782-2026
Felicia Westr DC PSC (202) 626-9199 fwest@psc.dc.gov
Joe Shelton B.F. Joy (DC NUCA Rep) (301) 699-6003 jshelton@bfjoy.com
Kevin Woolbright
Committee Chairman
WSSC (240) 205-3684 kwoolbr@wsscwater.com
Matt Ruddo One Call Concepts (410) 782-2025 mruddo@occinc.com
Meena Gowda
Vice Chairman
DC Water (202) 787-2628 mgowda@dcwater.com
Scott Brown
WGL (703) 750-4388 ssbrown@washgas.com
Sean Parron PEPCO (240) 882-6499 slparran@pepco.com
Thurman Smith UtiliQuest (703) 926-0639 thurman.smith@utiliquest.com
Tsedale Berhanu DC Water (202) 612-3570 tberhanu@dcwater.com
Vincent Healy Verizon (301) 791-5690 vincent.c.healy@verizon.com
Chooser Your State
2014 Awards
Select Your State | Search & Status | ITIC | Facility Owners | Excavators | Training & Safety | Homeowners | Call Center Information | Contact    
© 2018 One Call Concepts, Inc. All Rights Reserved.